News /

Richard D. Kirk Honored by St. Thomas More Society

On Sunday, May 20, 2012, the Saint Thomas More Society of the Catholic Diocese of Wilmington will honor Bayard’s Richard D. Kirk by presenting him with its Monsignor Paul J. Taggart St. Thomas More Award. Kirk will receive this award together with his brother, William E. Kirk, III, Vice President and General Counsel of Blue Cross Blue Shield of Delaware, and sister, Susan H. Kirk-Ryan, former deputy attorney general and is currently a hearing officer for the Delaware Department of Justice. They intend to accept the award in honor of their father, an attorney for DuPont for more than 30 years. They join a long list of distinguished recipients of the St. Thomas More Award including one of the founders of Bayard, William Duffy, a former Justice on the Delaware Supreme Court for whom Kirk clerked following law school.

The Monsignor Paul J. Taggart St. Thomas Moore Award is conferred on members of the legal profession who demonstrate:

  • A strong and pervasive sense of justice
  • Personal courage and conviction
  • Commitment to law, community and religion
  • Keen scholarly pursuits and advancement of knowledge
  • A high degree of intelligence, honesty and integrity, humility and humor
  • A record of personal sacrifice for the good of the community
  • A dedication to children, spouse, family and associates.

Prior recipients of the Monsignor Paul J. Taggart St. Thomas More Award also include Judge Collins J. Seitz, Sr. and Judge Jane R. Roth, of the United States Third Circuit Court of the Appeals; the Honorable Murray M. Schwartz, of the United States District Court in Delaware; Chief Justices Randy J. Holland and Norman Veasey, of the Delaware Supreme Court; and, the Honorable Vincent A. Bifferato of the Delaware Superior Court.

Founded in 1988, the St. Thomas More Society of the Diocese of Wilmington is an organization of attorneys of various faiths committed to the examples of Saint Thomas More. Kirk is one of the founding members of the St. Thomas More Society in Wilmington and served as its President from 1988-1989.

Scroll to top